Rotterdam 2020

Rotterdam 2020

Welcome to Rotterdam

Revisit The Netherlands’ Winning Entry

With Duncan Laurence’s triumph at Tel Aviv 2020, The Netherlands have achieved the first victory since 1975 and their fifth win since their debut at the inaugural edition of the contest. They last hosted in 1980 in The Hague, where they were granted hosting privileges due to Israel being unable to fund the contest after winning two years in a row.

This will be the first time Rotterdam hosts Eurovision proper, with Hilversum, Amsterdam, and The Hague, twice over, having previously hosted. The port city, however, did host the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2007.

Currently, Ukraine is the only confirmed country to return, following their absence of contractual spats between their artists and their broadcaster. Twenty-nine countries from the previous year have confirmed their intention to return.

No other countries have yet to confirm a withdrawal or return at this time, and likewise no debuts are currently planned.

Andorra, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Luxembourg, Monaco, and Slovakia have all confirmed they will not return, either due to budget restraints or incurred debt.